The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) led by Prime Minister Andrew Holness yesterday decimated the opposition People’s National Movement (PNP) lead by Dr. Peter Phillips. This is the first time the party has won consecutive victories since 1968. The JLP also won in 2015.

The preliminary count, the shows the JLP was returned to office with a landslide victory, capturing 49 out of 63 seats in Parliament – more that a two-thirdsmajority. The PNP only managed to win 14 seats in the House.

Accordingly to the Jamaica Gleaner newspaper, it was a shocking defeat for the PNP. “Several of its top stalwarts and popular names lost their seats. Among them: Peter Bunting in Manchester Central, Wykeham McNeill in Westmoreland Western, Luther Buchanan in Westmoreland Eastern, Fenton Ferguson in St Thomas Eastern, Dayton Campbell in St Ann North Western, Colin Fagan in St Catherine South Eastern. Richard Azan in Clarendon North Western, Horace Dalley in Clarendon Northern, Ian Hayles in Hanover Western, Imani Duncan-Price in Kingston Central, Dwayne Vaz in Westmoreland Central, Shane Alexis in St Mary South East, Victor Wright in Trelawny Northern, Andre Haughton in St James West Central, Basil Waite in St Elizabeth North Eastern, Walton Small in St James Southern, Krystal Tomlinson in St Andrew West Rural, and Wavell Hinds in Hanover Eastern.

The JLP won 406,764 of the popular votes, while the PNP won 305,157. A total of 1,161 votes went to independent candidates and third parties.

The Electoral Office of Jamaica said the overall voter turnout was approximately 37 per cent, compared to 48.37 per cent in the 2016 General Election. The results will be certified Friday after a final count.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *